Review: Darkness Follows (The Broken Trilogy #2) by L.A. Weatherly

Darkness Follows (The Broken Trilogy, #2)

Title: Darkness Follows (The Broken Trilogy #2)

Author:  L.A. Weatherly

Publication Date: October 1st, 2016

Format: Paperback (ARC)

Genres & Themes: Young-adult, Sci-fi, Dystopia.


Welcome to Harmony 5: a secure prison camp where the rebellious and the Discordant are broken. Amity is their newest inmate. The rules are simple here: obedience or death. Anyone caught trying to escape is executed. But former Peacefighter, Ingo, is prepared to risk everything for freedom. And in a world this dark, what has Amity got to lose?


black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)step0001


This is a spoiler-free review of the second book in The Broken Trilogy by L. A. Weatherly! If you haven’t read the first book yet then I wouldn’t recommend you to read this review.

Thanks to the publisher for sending my the physical ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review

I took a long time to pick this book up. I received the ARC a few months ago and even though I loved the first book, I was a bit intimidated by this one. The reason is that a lot of things happened in the first book and I was a little unsure if I remembered most of it. I know, I could reread the book but the thing is I don’t reread books at all. Anyway, I took the plunge and started reading this book.

When I started this book I was like, “What the hell? When did that happen?” I’ll tell you why this was my reaction. The book starts with Amity in the court and she’s facing a trial when the first book ended with indicating nothing like this. Anyway, as we read more, we find out why or how she got into this situation.

Amity is in a camp for Discordants called Harmony Five which is like the worst nightmare. For the first 100 pages, we only read about the worse conditions she’s living in there. In the first book, the second POV was of Kay Pierce but in this book, it’s Mac Jones which was a little weird considering that in the first book, his appearance was only limited to less than a page. Anyhow, at the beginning, we don’t know for sure who he is or where his loyalty lies but he’s, somewhat, a major character. This is the reason why I was a bit confused at the beginning of the book.

Amity is in worse conditions and after living in that miserable camp in the miserable condition, she’s lost all the hope for a better future. All she wants is to survive and not die. She doesn’t care about anything or anyone else anymore.She has kind of become a cold heartless person who will whatever she can to survive. The first 100 pages only deals with her living there.

Then after like 100 pages and so, the book starts to get interesting and intense. We also meet Ingo Manfred – who played an important character in the first book – as another prisoner in the camp. I adore Ingo’s character. He is, no doubt, my most fav character from the series. He reminds me of Kenji from Shatter Me series. He’s honest, kind of annoying at times and tells Amity to get her shit together. He and Amity also fight a lot. They argue and bicker but work together and talk about deep stuff so of course, I ship them even though I’m 90% sure that they’re only going to stay friends and that hurts…

Oh and Collie. I loathe him with all my soul. I know he regrets everything and his story is ‘redemption story’ but I don’t care. He was a shitty person and he betrayed Amity. Because of him, Amity suffered so much and I’m gonna hate him forever for this. The other reasons why I hate him is because, honestly, I didn’t like him from the start and also because of my Ingo-Amity ship which probably will never sail but a girl can dream.

This series is, no doubt, one of my most favourite series of all time. The writing is praise-worthy. The world building is A+. I love the astrological element in the books. It makes the book more unique. I know most of us are sick of the dystopian books with the same old story. However, this one is brilliant. Both thrilling and powerful. I’m excited to read the last book but sad too because I don’t want to be done with the series.

About the Author: 

Lee Weatherly was born in 1967 and grew up in Little Rock, Arkansas, USA. She lives with her husband in Hampshire, England, where she writes, goes on walks, tries out new recipes and has a cat named Bernard.

L.A. Weatherly is the pseudonym for Lee Weatherly. You can follow her on Twitter at @LA_Weatherly

Buy the book on Amazon | Book Depository 

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s