Review: Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3) by Tahereh Mafi

Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3)

Title: Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3)

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Publication Date: October 2nd, 2012

Format: Paperback

Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Fantasy

Blurb:

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.


Ratings:

black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)

Review:

It’s even better than the second book. And I love the second book.

I can’t even tell you how much I’m into this series now. I wanted to wait a day or two after finishing Unravel Me but, well, I finished it yesterday and I couldn’t keep my curiosity. So, I also read this 406 pages book in less than 24 hours.

Tahereh Mafi’s writing is brilliant in this one. Did I tell you guys that she replied to my tweet? I freaked out so much I didn’t know what to say so I just liked it. 😂
In this book, we get to know a lot more about Warner and his background and story. Adam has become a grumpy human being now but I still like him. I actually like his character more in this one. I mean, he has been through a lot for Juliette and he’s just angry because he’s an emotional mess right now. And Juliette is like What’s wrong with Adam? He wasn’t like that and blah blah blah. But seriously girl, he’s been through a lot and half of that is even because of you. He listened to you complain and cry about every single thing and now when he’s half as annoying as you were, you’re complaining? So stop whining and stick to his side like he was with you when you were crying and whining all the freakin’ time. That’s unfair to him. So, although Tahereh Mafi tried to make us not like Adam in this one so that love triangle wouldn’t be too hard, it didn’t work on me. He’s a good and kind guy whose feelings are just messed up and he needs time to figure everything out. And after so many revelations, you don’t expect him to stay so stable and neutral now, right?

I have already talked a lot about Warner in my previous reviews so I’m gonna skip him. But I’m gonna say that I like Adam more than Warner now.

Our lady Juliette has finally stopped crying in this one. I’m glad that she finally got some sense in her in this book and was actually kickass. Seriously, I would have mentally slapped her face if she sobbed more. So you see, she’s definitely not my favorite character at all but she’s just.. okay. Like if she were a real person, I would have stayed away from her and her never-ending drama.

The end of the series was amazing! Although I wish to know more, I don’t really want more books in the series. Because I don’t want the author to ruin it by dragging it like many other authors dragged their series. So, I’m happy with it as a trilogy. But,  I do wish to read more about Adam and Kenji’s life. Like what happened afterward.
Speaking of Kenji, he’s my most favorite character in the series. That guy is freaking awesome. I love that he’s brutally honest, straight-forward, blunt, and is the only one who tells Juliette to stop being a cry baby and get her shit together. He’s a great friend and I love his relationship with James – Adam’s little brother – who he treats like his own brother. He also has his problems but he never shares them with anyone or whine about it. I would love to read a book from his POV. 

So yes I this series has a lot of flaws but I loved it nonetheless, and I’m DEFINITELY gonna recommend it to you if you are patient enough to tolerate Juliette. I’m actually not patient but I tried and it was worth it.


About the Author: 

She was born in a small city somewhere in Connecticut and currently resides in Santa Monica, California, where she drinks too much caffeine and finds the weather to be just a little too perfect for her taste.
When unable to find a book, she can be found reading candy wrappers, coupons, and old receipts.


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Review: Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3) by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

