Review: Stolen: A Letter to My Captor by Lucy Christopher

Stolen: A Letter to My Captor

Title: Stolen: A Letter to My Captor

Author: Lucy Christopher

Publication Date: May 4th, 2009

Format: ebook

Genres & Themes: Young-adult, Contemporary.

Blurb:

It happened like this. I was stolen from an airport. Taken from everything I knew, everything I was used to. Taken to sand and heat, dirt and danger. And he expected me to love him.

This is my story.

A letter from nowhere.

Sixteen year old Gemma is kidnapped from Bangkok airport and taken to the Australian Outback. This wild and desolate landscape becomes almost a character in the book, so vividly is it described. Ty, her captor, is no stereotype. He is young, fit and completely gorgeous. This new life in the wilderness has been years in the planning. He loves only her, wants only her. Under the hot glare of the Australian sun, cut off from the world outside, can the force of his love make Gemma love him back?

The story takes the form of a letter, written by Gemma to Ty, reflecting on those strange and disturbing months in the outback. Months when the lines between love and obsession, and love and dependency, blur until they don’t exist – almost.


Rating:

black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)step0001

Review:

I’m so freakin’ confused.

This book is about Gemma. Ty kidnaps Gemma at the Bangkok airport, drugs her and takes her to an Australian desert. Gemma obviously wants to escape him and he even let her go. A lot of times.
Anyway, Gemma eventually realizes that she can’t escape the endless desert unless Ty wants her to because she can’t navigate through the vast endlessness without him.

I like that Gemma doesn’t fall in love with him quickly. It’s not like Wow a hot guy just kidnapped me so I gotta fall for him because it’s sooooo romantic. She wants to escape him and even kill him and she almost does. She tries to escape at every chance she gets but fails everytime, however, she eventually realizes that she can not escape this desert. At least not without Ty.

I’m extremely confused about Ty. He has such a complexed and complicated personality. Most of the time I was like you’re a creepy stalker! But then there were other parts where I couldn’t help but actually like how much he was passionately in love with Gemma. Then I loathed myself for liking him. I mean, he was a kidnapper but he never forced Gemma to do anything she didn’t want to. He never hit her or physically abused her, but was even kind to her. He even let her go a lot of times. The only thing he wanted from her was to fall in love with him. I even admired him for giving up his whole life and future for her. He knew that the ending wasn’t good for him. He thought that kidnapping her was like saving her from her miserable life. But, obviously, kidnapping wasn’t the right way. I’m sure if he weren’t a stalker, I would have totally fallen in love with him.

Lucy Christopher has successfully played with my head. Because I’ve never been so conflicted about a fictional guy before. I KNOW I SHOULD HATE HIM but there’s that little tiny part of me that understands him and um.. kind of likes him. And then I scold  myself for liking him but that’s what I’m talking about; conflicted feelings.

When the ending came, I was like no no no no. You can’t end it like this. I want to know more!! 
I’m so confused that I really want a sequel to satisfy my confusion. I want to know what happens next.

Do I recommend it? 

Yes, I do. It was heart-wrenching and emotional. This book isn’t like my favorite or the best book I have ever read but I honestly have no idea what I feel about it.


Spoiler:

HOW CAN SHE END IT LIKE THIS???? PLEASE DON’T BE SO CRUEL..

I HAVE SO MANY QUESTIONS!!!!

How Gemma deals with this? What happens to her after she goes back to Britain? What happens after fifteen years or so when Ty finally comes out of the Jail?

Another thing: I’m not a big fan of Ty but I love how he stayed there with her. He didn’t let her go to the hospital alone even though he knew that he would get caught. He risked his whole life and even gave it all up to save hers. He’s creepy but… um.. well… ugh. Kill me.


About the Author: 

Lucy Christopher was born in Wales but grew up in Australia. She obtained an Undergraduate degree at Melbourne University. She moved to the UK to earn a distinction in a Creative Writing MA from Bath Spa University. The novel she wrote for this class, The Long Flight, was picked up by a publisher under a new name of FLYAWAY.

Lucy’s debut novel, Stolen, was written as part for her PhD degree. Stolen explores her thoughts on the Australian desert through the story about a teenage girl who is kidnapped and taken there.

Lucy is working on another teen novel. When she is not writing, Lucy spends her time daydreaming, emailing friends and horseback riding a mare named Topaz as well as helping to run a kid’s wildlife group at Newport Wetlands.


Buy it on Amazon | Barnes and NobleBook Depository


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Review: Stolen: A Letter to My Captor by Lucy Christopher

Leave a Reply

