Reviews: Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) by Tahereh Mafi

Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2)

Title: Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2)

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Publication Date: December 31st, 2013

Format: Paperback

Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Fantasy

Blurb:

Juliette is still haunted by her deadly touch. But now that she has teamed up with other rebels with powers of their own, she’ll be able to fight back against The Reestablishment to save her broken world. With the help of these new allies, she’ll also finally learn the secret behind Adam’s—and Warner’s—immunity to her killer skin.

Unravel Me is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Ransom Riggs, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, raves: “A thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love, the Shatter Me series is a must-read for fans of dystopian young-adult literature—or any literature!”


Rating:

black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)

Review:

After taking a break for what felt like a million years, she finally sat down to write the review of her favorite series.

^ that was about me, in case you’re wondering.

I finished this 467 pages long book in less than 24 hours.

In this one, Juliette and Adam have arrived Omega Point and are residing there. Juliette has found out that she’s not the only one with “supernatural” powers but there are many others like her. There are many people with different kind of abilities though it is more than a little obvious that Juliette has the strongest and most powerful ability.

This is the sequel to Shatter Me – which I loved – and I’m so glad I continued on with the series because this book has gotten a lot better than the first book. I mentioned in my review of Shatter Me that Tahereh’s writing, repetitiveness, and metaphors were really annoying but in this one, her writing has improved a lot. Or Juliette’s narration. Whatever.

However, Juliette is more of a cry baby in this book than she was in the first one. She’s literally crying all the time and blaming herself for all the bad things happening in his world. What’s up with the “fantasy teenage heroines” blaming themselves for all the wrong happening in the world?

 Anyway, we get more of Warner in this book which I obviously loved because, by the second book, he has officially gained a position in my Fictional Crushes list. So, we have a lot more of conversation between Warner and Juliette in this one but here the tables are turned and Juliette is not the captive but Warner is. He’s the hostage at Omega Point now. Not sure if “hostage” is the right word. So, the conversations between Warner and Juliette indicates that Warner may not be that bad but there’s more to his personality than what he lets everyone see. Let me add something here: I hate the part where the author tries to justify the  bad boy/villain’s actions or tries to mess with our heads by indicating a cruel and torturous background of a villain that turned him into a “bad boy”. OR that he might not be that bad after all. The bad boy with a cruel background trope. I hated this at the beginning but when I read Ignite Me, I realized what the author was actually trying to convey and now I actually like his story. Not the trope, though.

The researchers at Omega Point are now trying to find out what Adam’s superpower is because he obviously can’t be that lucky to touch without any power that in enabling his body to do so. Adam and Juliette are drifting apart too. But, I knew it was gonna happen. I mean, how else would the love triangle happen?

A lot of things happened in this book and that ending… Wow. I’m so happy that I had the third book with me because I really needed it. And also because I couldn’t wait, I started the third book next day. The second book also has a lot more action than the first book because the first one only focused on Adam and Juliette’s relationship.

So, I obviously recommend this series and if you read the first book and didn’t like it, I’m sure you’ll like this one. It’s a lot better than the first book.


 About the Author: 


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Reviews: Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Who could say no with your opening line to this review ❤ The series sounds incredible and for the most part, like something I could appreciate. I just always hesitate with romance. I have no idea why, but I struggle so hard with it. Maybe in this one, since there is so much happening, it will work for me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

