Review: The Revolution of Ivy (The Book of Ivy #2) by Amy Engel

The Revolution of Ivy (The Book of Ivy, #2)

Title: The Revolution of Ivy (The Book of Ivy #2)

Author: Amy Engel

Publication Date: November 3rd, 2015

Format: Ebook

Genres & Themes: Young-adult, Dystopia, Science Fiction, Romance.

Blurb:

Ivy Westfall is beyond the fence and she is alone. Abandoned by her family and separated from Bishop Lattimer, Ivy must find a way to survive on her own in a land filled with countless dangers, both human and natural. She has traded a more civilized type of cruelty–forced marriages and murder plots–for the bare-knuckled brutality required to survive outside Westfall’s borders.

But there is hope beyond the fence, as well. And when Bishop reappears in Ivy’s life, she must decide if returning to Westfall to take a final stand for what she believes is right is worth losing everything she’s fought for.

Rating:

black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)

Review: 

It took me a long time to finally write the review which is unusual for me because I write the review as soon as I finish the book. I have no idea what took me so long to write this one. Everytime I tried to write the review, my mind went blank and I stared at the screen for a few minutes before closing the tab. But, here it is after much confusion and chaos.

I liked this book. Even better than I liked the first book. The Revolution of Ivy gave me Pandemonium – the second book in the Delirium trilogy – vibes because this one is also set outside the border/fence protecting the city/town. And because of a lot of things that I can’t mention because spoilers. It also had more action and adventure as compared to the first book and was also a lot shorter than The Book of Ivy but more intense and thrilling.

I love Ivy’s character in this book. Her character develops a lot and I love how the title is fitting to her development. She grows stronger and more mature. She becomes tough and (thankfully) leaves her impulsiveness in the last book. She realizes that she has to become resilient in order to survive outside this unknown place packed with wild beasts and whatnot. Ivy also meets Caleb and Ash outside the fence. These two are kind of siblings. While Caleb is distant and cold towards Ivy at the beginning, Ash is kind and friendly.

Ash is such an amazing secondary female character. She’s nice and all but can also kill you with her bare hands. Which is honestly what I would wanna be as if I were a fictional character; nice yet deadly. But I know if I were in a dystopian book, I would be dead in just a few seconds. 😀

Caleb is indifferent and unfriendly. Unlike Ash, he doesn’t get attached or trusts anyone that easily. But, he’s actually a really caring guy. He cares for Ash – who is his only family – more than anything in the world and would kill anyone who tries to hurt her in any way. He is not friendly to Ivy at the beginning because he doesn’t trust her. But, after some time, he starts to accept her too.

Bishop is, well, Bishop. He’s one of a kind and hopelessly in love with Ivy. His and Ivy paths meet when he ventures out in the woods looking for her. And he doesn’t give up on her. Literally. Ivy is reluctant at first and expresses mixed emotions because she was trying hardest to forget her old life and Bishop but then his sudden appearance changed everything.

The book mainly focuses on Ivy and Bishop’s relationship. Which is great but I wish there was more about other stuff too. The end chapters were unexpected and highly intense. There was a lot going on and “everything” happened one after another without a single break.

This book (and series) is loved by a lot of people but it didn’t do the magic for me. I have said the same about the first book (click here to read review) and I will say the same about it: I feel like I have already read this book before. I haven’t read a lot of Dystopia but I still felt like I read nothing new but just a repeated story with a little twist. I know I said that it gave me Pandemonium vibes but to be really honest, half of the book felt like Pandemonium and Requiem.

I recommend this series if only you’re looking for a light dystopian OR if you love Delirium and Matched series and are looking for something similar.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Buy it on Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

 

9 thoughts on “Review: The Revolution of Ivy (The Book of Ivy #2) by Amy Engel

  1. Lovely review! I just don’t think I could handle that much romance if it takes away your attention from the story. I do like how you’re describing how Ash is nice and all but can kill you with her bare hands :’). I’d definitely want to hang out with her as well. Or be her indeed xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The romance was the main focus of the book. And since I’m more into action and adventure with a little bit of romance by side, I didn’t like it much.
      It would take a lot of courage to become deadly and dangerous. I don’t even know how to throw a knife. xD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha, I tried just throwing a knife at the wall like they do in the movies, but my GOD, yeah, it really doesn’t work that way XD. You should probably just start with throwing cooked spaghetti and see if it sticks xD

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

