Review: The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel

The Book of Ivy (The Book of Ivy, #1)

Title: The Book of Ivy (The Book of Ivy #1)

Author: Amy Engel

Publication Date: November 4th, 2014

Format: Ebook

Genres & Themes: Young-adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance

Blurb:

After a brutal nuclear war, the United States was left decimated. A small group of survivors eventually banded together, but only after more conflict over which family would govern the new nation. The Westfalls lost. Fifty years later, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing side to the sons of the winning group in a yearly ritual.

This year, it is my turn.

My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill the president’s son—my soon-to-be husband—and restore the Westfall family to power.

But Bishop Lattimer is either a very skilled actor or he’s not the cruel, heartless boy my family warned me to expect. He might even be the one person in this world who truly understands me. But there is no escape from my fate. I am the only one who can restore the Westfall legacy.

Because Bishop must die. And I must be the one to kill him…


Rating:

black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)step0001

Review: 

I was watching Booktube videos when I came across one video in which the booktuber recommended this book for people who like/love dystopia. Now, I’m not a huge fan of Dystopia (I used to be one) but it’s been quite a while since I read a good fantasy book in the dystopian genre and so I picked it up. The story also sounded interesting. Cliched but interesting.

I found the book a lot similar to Matched and Delirium because of the arranged marriages, corrupt government, and fencing. It’s like a mixture of both. So, if you’re a fan of both of these two dystopias, you might want to try this.

This book is set decades after a Nuclear war that ruined the United States. Some survivors settled in Westfall and after a conflict over which family – Lattimers or Westfalls – would govern the newly formed nation, the Westfalls lost. Now peace is maintained by marrying a Westfall daughter to the Lattimer son. This is Ivy’s turn to marry Bishop Lattimer but her plans are not just marrying the son, but also killing him so the Westfalls would regain their power and make Westfall great again. But, the problem starts when Bishop is nothing how Ivy thought he would be. He’s kind and considerate and all the good things she never expected him to be. But, Bishop’s death is important.. really important. And it’s only Ivy who can kill him.

The book is really short for a dystopian book. It’s like only like less than 300 pages long. The world building is okay in my opinion though there are some things that bothered me because they were simply illogical and made no sense. The first half of the book was also really awkward and cringy so if you’re going to read the book anytime soon, brace yourself for all the awkwardness.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Buy it on Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review: The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel

  1. OMG ‘CAN YOU PLEASE SHUT UP A SECOND?’ made me burst out laughing! AHAHAH a really great review by the way! I too used to be really into dystopian and now I kind of slowly edging my way back in? I’m looking for something that might impress me a little more and I’m considering this one although it’s cliche 😉 it seems interesting enough and I see that you quite enjoyed it! Love this review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fab review dear! I’m not in for perfect boys either, they creep me out or bore me to tear XD. What about Jehan, though? 😉

    I agree with your take on so many Dystopians delivering almost the same plot. It’s why it’s not floating my boat that much anymore either. But I love how this one tackles female freedom issues. If I would’ve been forced to marry some random guy when I was 17, I highly doubt either of us would’ve turned out to be a happy person (because I’d make his life miserable if he were to treat me poopy, no doubt as well XD). Still didn’t cry over a book did ya? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

