Review: The Romantics by Leah Konen

The Romantics

Title: The Romantics

Author: Leah Konen

Publication Date:  November 1st, 2016

Format: Ebook (ARC)

Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction

Blurb:

Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ painful separation. Love intervenes with the intention of setting things right—but she doesn’t anticipate the intrusion of her dreaded nemesis: the Rebound. Love’s plans for Gael are sidetracked by Cara, Gael’s hot-sauce-wielding “dream girl.” The more Love meddles, the further Gael drifts from the one girl who can help him mend his heart. Soon Love starts breaking all her own rules—and in order to set Gael’s fate back on course, she has to make some tough decisions about what it means to truly care.

Review: 

I received a copy of the book from the Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

It’s been a long time since I finished a book in less than 24 hours but I finished this book in less than a day… and I also sacrificed my sleep for it.

This book is a cute, fun, and light read. I absolutely adore this book and I enjoyed it a lot.

So this book is narrated by Love and our “lovely” narrator narrates us the story of Gael – a senior at High School – who is at the worst time of his life. His parents are separating and the girl who he thought was the one has broken his heart. He’s hopeless and the only things he wants to do is to stay shut in his room and watch movies while eating snickers. Now, love is trying all it can to mend the broken heart but love’s nemesis “The Rebound” is trying to meddle with Gael’s life as well.

This book is so freaking relatable. I felt like almost every character was relatable in one way or another. We all have felt broken and crushed like Gael at some point and we all have felt like the world ending because of a single heartbreak. However, The Romantics gives you a message that regardless of how depressed you are or how hopeless you feel, these emotions are temporary and all of this will pass because every cloud has a silver lining. Oh, and there were some characters I wanted to punch in the face.

Leah Konen possesses an exquisite writing style. This book didn’t bore me for even a second. Love, as a narrator, is hilarious with puns, jokes and side comments while at the same time giving us various messages about love. Love also explains to us the various types of people giving an insight on “Romantics”, “Serial Monogamists” etc in short, terms you’ll understand thoroughly after reading this book. This book is not like unpredictable or anything because like me, you’ll probably guess who he’ll end up with but it’s the adventures and the journey he goes through that makes the book worthwhile. One of my most favourite messages that Love in this book gives us is:

Love doesn’t make you selfish but it makes you a better person. 

I wish I read this book before writing my contemporary recommendation/favorite post this week because this one totally would’ve made it on that list. So, needless to say, I highly recommend this book to you. 

Oh, and I just checked – there’s only one review with a one-star rating. Most of them have 4 or 5 stars so you can guess how awesome this book is.

Rating:

black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)


About the Author: 

Leah Konen grew up in a two-stoplight farming town in Washington State before moving to suburban North Carolina, where there were many more stoplights and lots of sweet tea. After studying journalism at the University of North Carolina, she headed to New York City to pursue her dream of becoming a writer. When she’s not working on novels and articles or writing for fashion brands, she enjoys devouring new books, spoiling her dog, Farley, biking around Brooklyn, checking out live music, and binge-watching TV. Find her online at www.leahkonen.com.

Pre-Order it on Amazon | Barnes and Nobles | Kobo


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Review: The Romantics by Leah Konen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s