Discussion: Reading Slumps!

I don’t even remember the last time I did a discussion post but I felt like doing one right now. It’s been a long time since I have talked to my blogger friends. So, I thought to compose a post to have a discussion with the lovely people here.

The topic of discussion is: Reading Slumps.

Reading slumps are a reader’s nightmare (literally) You can’t read any book because of no reason at all. Maybe because the last book you read is the epitome of awesome or is literal definition of the most horrible book you have ever read. Whatever the reason is, you just can’t pick a book!

I know this topic has been discussed a lot but I have never discussed reading slumps with anyone so I’m new to that.

My reading slumps last a week or two and I don’t even try to read anything during the slump unless I’m really desperate for a book to read. Anywho, I spend my reading slump watching movies, tv shows, eating and gaining weight. And after a week, I pick up a book and read like the slump never happened. It works for me.. most of the time. That’s why I never really have any tips for people suffering the reading slump.

So, what about you? Do you have any tips for reading slumps? How long does your reading slump last?

Share your tips and I will assemble them and write them up in a post and will give you credit, of course. ❤


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

21 thoughts on “Discussion: Reading Slumps!

  1. I think I tend to hit slumps when I’ve ‘had’ to read books – like ARCs or library books, with deadlines. I usually get past those quickly by picking up something fun and trashy and ignoring the deadline for a bit! Or, far more rarely, I’ve read SUCH a great book/series, that nothing else is able to grab me in the same way – again, reading something purposefully rubbish can help, or nothing but magazines for a week!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Exactly! Reading ARCs is like having a homework and you gotta complete it before hitting the deadline. I always get into trouble with ARCs because I feel like I’m forcing myself to reading them.

      Like

  2. I’ve hit several slumps in the past few months. I’ll finish a book, write a book review for my blog within 24 hours, and then I’ve felt stuck, not sure which book to read next. The main issue for me is that my husband and I bought our first house this summer, and it’s in a different city, so I haven’t had a free minute on a Saturday to join the city library! Hopefully in September!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s terrible. I’m glad that I don’t fall into reading slumps that often. How do you settle on a book?
      I hope you get to join the library this month. And congratulations for the new house! 🙂

      Like

  3. What helps for me is reading a shorter book, big books can feel intimidating. Also, what helps for me is not to stress about it, it’s not going to end the world when you stop reading for a while! Grabbing something fun and light with no pressure is the best way for me. 😁

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I plough through it for the sake of the ARC’s, but MEH! I think I’ve been in a reading slump for months now and it’s because I feel obliged to read the book that I requested or accepted a request for so that it becomes more like homework instead of fun. Yet, it’s still my own fault for continuing to request and/or accept books ;).

    Liked by 2 people

    1. EXACTLY! Reading ARCs feel like homework and that’s when the slump start. It doesn’t matter how much I try, reading ARCs is always way too boring for me except for the ARCs from NetGalley!
      Haha. How are you reading so many books if you’re still in a slump?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, same here! Sometimes, even the once from NetGalley seem like a chore :$. But that’s only the ones I clicked in a rush of greed XD. I’m forcing myself, really, because I’d feel guilty otherwise, but I can’t say the enthusiasm is very vivid 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yup, guilty as charged! XD I sometimes forgot I even wished for something until I get an email that my wish has been granted. And then I’m like, meh, why did I do this, why?! Sound familiar?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

