How to Read More!

We all want to read more! Some of us are able to read 100 books a year while some can only read 30 books. It may be because of the difference in reading speed or because you have a lot of homework (like me) to do and are never able to read book calmly without thinking about all the assignments you’re procrastinating.

Here are a few tips that might help you to read more:

1. Throw your phone in the bottomless pit of Tartarus (Or you can also flush it down the toilet if you’re a mortal).

Cell phones are the biggest distraction and you don’t need this kind of distraction in your life. Phones also help to spread the spoilers and you need to stay away from them. So, just throw this device in the Pacific Ocean.

2. Take your book EVERYWHERE!

You know, books can also keep the annoying people away from you. Just take a book out and they won’t even bother talking to you. But, we’ll talk about it some other time.

Golden Globe Awards book reading aziz ansari golden globes 2016

You never know how much free time you’ll get anywhere while waiting for someone and you don’t wanna regret not bringing the book, do you?

3. Stop reading the book if you’re not enjoying it.

reading matthew perry chandler bing chandler pay attention

Please, DNF it. If you’re not enjoying then there’s no point reading it. You’re just wasting your time. If you’re reading a book that you’re not enjoying, chances are that you’ll fall into a reading slump which brings us to the next point.

4. Beware of the reading slumps. 

(and run whenever you see them coming).

scared boy meets world horrified cory matthews ben savage

If you don’t already know, Reading Slump is what you call it when you can’t read a book for no freaking reason at all! Reading Slump varies from 1 week to a month. And they waste a lot of reading time. You won’t be able to read a book during the whole time. So, try to stay away from these invisible demons.

5. Listen to audiobooks.

I don’t listen to audiobooks but they’re really good when it comes to reading more. You can just listen to one anywhere and that’s it!

6. Read books less than 300 pages.

I don’t follow this one either. You see, I was in a mood to read something light and I ended up reading Percy Jackson and the Battle of Labyrinth which is not that light.

star trek read book patrick stewart throwing

But, don’t throw it!


I hope you enjoyed my post. 

Like, comment and share it on social media. ❤

Share your tips on how you manage to read a lot of books?


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

19 thoughts on “How to Read More!

  1. Thanks for the tips hahaha I’ve already been through my annual reading slump so I hope that it will stay away until next year! I only have one problem with m phone, since I’m reading a lot of ebooks on my phone lately :’)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great tips! I really need to learn how and when to DNF. I have this compulsatory need to finish things :S. But it’s definitely one of the main book slump inducers! Keeping up with the blogosphere on all social media platforms also cuts into my reading time big time lately! But everyone deserves a little love and attention eh? xD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Newbie here 🙂 i enjoyed reading this post. I buy loads of books and they’re all collecting dust because i just can’t find the time to read them! I like no.2, however the only problem is that i get dizzy reading on public transport -_-

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Zara! ❤ Thank you. I'm glad that you enjoyed it. ^-^
      Story of every bookworm. 😀 Almost half of of my books are dusty too! I love reading on transport. But, people keep talking to me or because of the noises, I can't.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

