Review: The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #4) by Rick Riordan

The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #4)

Title: The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #4)

Author: Rick Riordan

Publication Date: March 6th, 2008

Format: Paperback (bought)

Genres & Themes: Young-adult, Fantasy, Greek Mythology.

Blurb:

Percy Jackson isn’t expecting freshman orientation to be any fun. But when a mysterious mortal acquaintance appears on campus, followed by demon cheerleaders, things quickly move from bad to worse.
In this fourth installment of the blockbuster series, time is running out as war between the Olympians and the evil Titan lord Kronos draws near. Even the safe haven of Camp Half-Blood grows more vulnerable by the minute as Kronos’s army prepares to invade its once impenetrable borders. To stop the invasion, Percy and his demigod friends must set out on a quest through the Labyrinth – a sprawling underground world with stunning surprises at every turn.

Rating:

black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)black_star_u2605_icon_256x256 (2)

My Review: 

I’m still trying to process everything that happened in the book and my mind is still a jumbled mess right now.

“People are more difficult to work with than machines. And when you break a person, he can’t be fixed.”

Percy Jackson books will NEVER disappoint me and I’m sure of that.

I will always be in awe of Rick Riordan’s impressive writing style. The turns and twists in the book had my jaw hanging – figuratively. This book takes a new turn. Now it’s Annabeth’s turn to lead the quest in a Labyrinth – a maze that can drive you to insanity with hideous and deadly monsters residing in the maze looking for preys and you never know what’s going to happen the next second in the maze or which monster will have you as their dinner.

The thing is; I can’t review the book without screaming all kinds of spoilers so I would only say that this series is a freaking masterpiece and you’re missing a lot if you’re not picking it up. I also kind of forced my friend to read the book and she loved it! So, I’m also going to force you to read this book because, please?

It is obviously filled with Greek Mythology. After reading the series, I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to answer any of the questions related to Greek Mythology. I don’t even need to get a degree for that! Thanks to Rick Riordan!

I’m excited to read the last book because I want to know how it ends (also don’t want the series to end *sigh*) and one of my blogger friends also told me that the “last book is epic.” I’ll read the last book next month hopefully and then I’ll write a more elaborate post on this series!


Spoilers:

That revelation of who Daedalus was so unpredictable, to be honest. I knew that Quintus was up to something but I, like most of the readers, thought that he was with Luke and I even formed a theory that the whistle was his way to keep a track on where Percy was in the maze.

And that Kronos part? WOW! I’m still confused like

WHAT? HOW?

I’m sure I’ll get the answers in the last book!


Thanks for reading the review.

Have you read the series or are you planning to? 

About the Author:

Rick Riordan is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of over twenty novels for young readers, including the Percy Jackson series, the Kane Chronicles, the Magnus Chase series and the Trials of Apollo. He is also the author of the multi-award-winning Tres Navarre mystery series for adults.

For fifteen years, Rick taught English and history at public and private middle schools in the San Francisco Bay Area and in Texas. While teaching in San Antonio, Saint Mary’s Hall honored him with the school’s first Master Teacher Award.

While teaching full time, Riordan began writing mystery novels for grownups. His Tres Navarre series went on to win the top three national awards in the mystery genre – the Edgar, the Anthony and the Shamus. Riordan turned to children’s fiction when he started The Lightning Thief as a bedtime story for his oldest son.

Today over fifty million copies of his books are in print in the United States, and rights have been sold into more than 37 countries.

Rick Riordan now writes full-time. He lives in Boston with his wife and two sons.


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review: The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #4) by Rick Riordan

  1. Okay, so you know that mark on Quintus’s neck? And that scene when Daedalus is putting the wings on his son and drops some oil onto his neck and burns him?? I thought Quintus was Daedalus’s son!!! And that he had somehow survived!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

