Reading Jane Austen for the First Time!

I have had Pride and Prejudice in my possession for a long time – 5 years. But, I never read it. I tried a lot of times but never really understood anything. You see, I’m not an English speaker. My first language is not English but Urdu and although I had been reading English novels even when I was a kid, I was never ready for a “Classic” if you know what I mean. Classics always bored me and half the time, I never understood anything that was going on. But, I always wanted to read an Austen book because they are extremely popular and everyone loves them. That’s why I always suspected my first Jane Austen book to be Pride and Prejudice, however, it’s not.

If you haven’t guessed already then I’m reading Emma. I have read only 30 pages but I’m really enjoying it. I borrowed this book from Β my library and I had my eyes on it since last year. I got this book as soon as I went to College.My reading pace is painfully slow and even shameful to mention. But that’s because of College. I’m studying almost all the time or busy with assignments and that’s why I can’t read it. I’ll hopefully finish it soon and by soon, I mean, in a week.

Have you read it? Let me know what you think about it in the comments below!


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

15 thoughts on “Reading Jane Austen for the First Time!

  1. You shouldn’t be too hard on yourself! Considering they are written in more of an “old English”, it’s so much harder than any contemporary today! I’ve been raised bilingual, but only just started to read Northanger Abbey, and have some issue with it sometimes :’) We can do this!!! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had the same perception about classics till I eventually got pride and prejudice in my possession. What started like a random reading had turned into crazy need to know the story more. I was soon engrossed in the story that now I wish to go through all Jane Austen novels one by one . So, do tell me how you found Emma. πŸ˜„πŸ˜…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And I honestly wanted to read P&P more than Emma but I got this one from Library so yeah.. Have you read any more of Jane Austen? I’m also planning to read Jane Eyre soon πŸ™‚
      Emma is a brilliant book but Emma’s character is unlikable. She’s arrogant and thinks highly of herself. But book is great so far πŸ™‚ ^-^

      Liked by 1 person

    1. P&P is loved by almost everyone from this planet (except Trump, of course) Emma is a good book too. But, Emma’s character gets really annoying. But, in a way, it’s good to have a protagonist with flaws.
      Have you watched the movie?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. For Emma? No. But I’ve watched the Kiera Knightly one for P&P and it was actually really good and accurate to the book! I’ve heard that complaint about Emma. I’ve read Sense and Sensibility as well and found the middle to be really boring and one of the sisters was too dramatic and winy lol

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I know classics can be really daunting. I think the first classic I read for fun was Jane Eyre and I was SO glad that I made the decision to pick it up because not only was it a fast-paced, entertaining novel with lots of girl power, but it was also written beautifully without being over-complicated. If you haven’t read that one, maybe you can give it a go once you’re done with Austen. πŸ™‚

    I haven’t read Emma yet. I’ve only read Pride & Prejudice, but I remember enjoying it. I do think it’s a little overrated, though, ha. I much preferred Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights. Happy reading, Zainab. ❀

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have no idea how much I want to read Jane Eyre! I honestly look for this book everywhere. I even issued this book from library before Emma but unfortunately “that book” was Notes On Jane Eyre not the real Jane Eyre. I’ll order it though. I just can’t find a good copy! But I will read it as soon as I find one. πŸ™‚
      Oh, Emma is a good book. I like it and can’t really judge because it’s the first Classic I’m reading. But, Emma’s character is untolerable. She’s proud, arrogant and judgmental. And she thinks so highly of herself.
      Thanks, Aimal. And you too. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

