I Tried My Luck at Painting

I’m not a creative person at all.

And no, I’m not kidding.

Yesterday I was about to start this Urdu novel but then I was suddenly struck with a creative idea. More like an art idea. So I obviously got up and searched for all the pens, pencils, paints and brushes (any artsy thing I could find tbh). And surprisingly, it didn’t take me a lot of time to find them since I don’t use them a lot. I opened the box of water colours which was obviously really dusty (I don’t paint a lot) Anyway, I got my paint brushes, paints and everything I needed and then I started to paint.

Let me tell you why I don’t paint:

  • I’m not creative (already mentioned duh)
  • I don’t know how to make abstract or galaxy kinda art (which I love!) and I tried by the way. And failed miserably.
  • I’m just not creative. I don’t know how to mix colours and all kinda stuff that most creative people do.

But that doesn’t mean I’m not good at painting and drawing/sketching. I’m mediocre but I’m not the worst. I used to paint many of the charts for my class/assignments in School.

(Ironically, my best friend is the most creative person I know)

So I’m obsessed with this quote:

“Still, the image haunted his dreams throughout the night: a lovely girl gazing at the stars, and the stars who gazed back.”

(Throne of Glass)

And I wanted to paint something that goes with it. I had a really pretty picture in my mind but after trying 11 times approx I couldn’t make it (not a shock). Anyhow, I started painting the page blue and after I was done with more than the half of the page, I was struck with another idea (I know! 2 ideas in just one day?! so unlike me) so I painted the sides with purple (my favourite colour) and the effect turned out to be good (not how I imagined it to be). At least I think it does.

2016-06-16 04.09.03 2 (1).jpg

I know it’s REALLY messy but it was a little success for me to be honest. My paintings never turned out be good and this one was. I’m so happy.

Are you good at painting/sketching? Are you a creative person? What do you think of my art? Why do I have so many questions to ask?

HashtagAwkward

 

32 thoughts on “I Tried My Luck at Painting

  1. That’s really good! I like how you did the cut out words instead of just writing or painting it on there. That’s what I would have done. If you want to get better at art, I would reccomend drawing as much as possible. I’ve really improved over the past two years just because I draw a lot. Also, ask your creative friend for tips. I have a lot of friends who are really good artists, and I’ve learned a lot from them. Love your blog, BTW.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First, I love “too lazy to log in” xD Haha Thank you. πŸ™‚ I like the cut outs more than just writing. I used to draw a lot and I’m good at it. I have a few sketches that are really good but I’m not that much into it. I will ask! Tbh, I mostly ask her to make me something for my room xD
      Thanks for your advice! And I’m really happy that you liked my blog. Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This is Carol not too lazy to log in. On my phone, if I put in my real email, it asks me to log in to wordpress and then takes me to the wordpress home and I can’t comment. Since I can’t use my email, it sends the “someone replied to the comment” email to the fake email. Naturally, I forgot all about the comment I made until today, so sorry for the delay. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks amazing! I really like it πŸ™‚ I don’t profess to be an artist or good at art, but as an art student one of the most important lessons I learnt is that beautiful art has meaning (even if it looks awful). And so, your painting is beautiful because it has a special meaning to you (and also, the colours really work well together!) πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you so much, Fatime πŸ™‚ Hahah that awful part made me laugh xD You’re right. There’s a rt and beauty in every single thing and yup it has a really special meaning because it reminds me of Chaol who I love a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. One, I love how it turned out πŸ™‚ Two, thank you! I am a creative person, and when people tell me that they wish they could draw and play music and write and so on I kinda want to slap them silly. Not when it is a compliment, but when it is an “I’m not good enough” side note. The arts are HARD. You have to work at it to be good at it. You don’t become an artist overnight. So, thank you so much for doing this. And thirdly, I am reading Throne of Glass right now. I just read that line last night. I got inspired. I started drawing that scene. You’re not stalking me, are you? πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One, Thanks πŸ™‚ Two, I *can* draw and paint but only when I’m in a mood and that means once in a gazillion years. You’re right. You can’t just wish to become good at something. You work for it. And you mentioned that you’re a creative person so I’d like to see your paintings/sketches or whatever you make.
      Thirdly, You got me. Been crazy stalking you all day everyday *rolls eyes* But I know, right? I love that scene. So freaking good. And are you enjoying the book??

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

