Random Rant #1

Well, my life is really busy and a lot lazy. It’s Ramadan and I’m trying to read and complete the whole Quran this month. I’m on the 9th Chapter now (30 Chapters in total) and I’m trying to read as much as I can and that’s why it’s really hard for me to read a book. I actually read a book a few days ago but that ended up me reading the whole night till 6 am and then the next evening. I didn’t get to pray as much that day. But I enjoyed the book a lot. I’m also rereading The Book Thief with some friends.

Talking about books, if you haven’t seen my “current read shelf then let me update you on it myself. I’m currently reading four books right now. Um 5 actually. No, 6 *hides in the corner* I’m not actually reading them. You see I had a plan that I’ll be reading series this month but then my motivation decided to betray me.. again. Anyhow, I started reading Heir of Fire, Scarlet, Learning to Swim, The Blood of HydraΒ (this one I actually started in March) All of these are series and then there are two standalone. I’m really sorry but I wasn’t really enjoying them.I know I have been blabbering a lot about Throne of Glass lately but I guess I need some more time to get over Crown of Midnight (And Chaol which, by the way, is never gonna happen) before I pick Heir of Fire again. Β But I think I’ll pick up Scarlet once again because I was kinda into it.

So the Iftar (the meal eaten by Muslims after sunset during Ramadan.) consists of samosa, pakoras, fries, Chaat, Dahi Baray, and Fruit Salad sometimes or anything else. I, being me, obviously, overeats sometimes or most of the time drink 3-4 glasses of water at once and that ends up me being a water balloon and a lazy panda. Literally. That’s why I am not able to write any blog posts. #dontjudgeme

So this was my really huge rant.

How are you? And how’s life treating you?

38 thoughts on “Random Rant #1

  1. Blessed Ramadan. No judgment here.

    This week, I am attempting to coordinate a community vigil and hold space for the grief of the LGBTQ members in my town who need to regroup and be shown love.

    Enjoy those pakoras and samosas. Reading the Quoran isn’t a light endeavor, especially on an empty stomach.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      You’re doing a great thing. May all those innocent lives rest in peace. It is terrible what is happening around the world. We’re not safe anywhere.
      It is not but I try my best to read as much as I can. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Wow, I can’t imagine reading that many books at a time. I’m impressed by your ambition! Hope you love everything you read this month, and don’t worry about posting much. (Also: you’ve made me hungry with that list of delicious food!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not really reading all of them πŸ˜€
      Actually, I’m not reading anything right now except Quran. However, I’m planning to read this book “invisible-i-am” because it’s only like 50 pages long.
      Thank you so much! Haha. You can try the recipes. All of them are really easy and tasty… *drools*

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I was thinking about Ramadan this evening. I popped into my favourite Indian restaurant in Crystal Palace (its called the Palace Spice) and enjoyed an excellent curry and a glass of white wine. The owner’s son mentioned Ramadan to me and I remarked how hard it must be for him to see (and smell) others eating while having to fast himself. He agreed with me that it is extremely hard. I admire your stamina, being able to fast like that. Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      You’re right. It’s hard. But that’s what Ramadan is about; Patience. We try to be patient all the time. It’s a way to control one’s self and it’s a little difficult but it works! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You should’ve mentioned “Don’t read ahead if you’re fasting” before mentioning all that iftar food. Now I’m hungry πŸ˜€ You are reading a lot, between all those books and Quran, i have to say I’m impressed!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I haven’t been reading much either (if at all). I’m a notorious over-eater during Ramadan, so I’m trying to not eat as much this year, and it’s actually working πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I read more from the Qur’an than from the Bible for some reason and it’s some pretty heavy reading idd! Good job! πŸ™‚ I laughed at your explosion of ‘currently reading’-pile :D. The same thing happens to me when I’m in a book slump. I start several books and hope at least one manages to keep me interested (which usually fails epically :D). I’m ‘reading’ 4 or 5 now? *high fives!* πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it is. That’s why I’m trying to read as much to finish it before Ramadan ends πŸ™‚ Hahah. πŸ˜€ Yeah I was trying to find a perfect book but ended up with so many books that I’m not even reading right now. Thankfully, I found the perfect book as well.
      And I’m glad that I’m not alone πŸ˜€ And how many books are you actually reading? xD *high fives*

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I just started the chapter 6 πŸ™ˆ I also have been busy reading books. But I only read when I’m at work. Then I’m so exhausted that the only time I get to read Quran Shareef is before magrib. I think however much we read we should read it peacefully and not in a hurry. Will try my best to read the whole Quran but if not I will be satisfied with however much I cover. And also I’m listening to Nauman Ali khan’s Surah Baqra tafsir. It’s really good. Do give a listen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t pressure yourself. And you’re right we should read it to satisfy our souls and not in a hurry. I love Nauman Ali Khan’s lectures! Do you watch Mufti Ismail Menk’s lectures? They’re great too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

