ARC Review: The Visitor by J.L. Pattison

The Visitor

Title: The Visitor

Author:  J.L. Pattison

Publication Date: August 7th, 2015

Format:  Ebook (ARC)

Genres & Themes: Science Fiction, Short Story, Historical Fiction, Time Travel

Blurb:

When a time traveler delivering an urgent message ends up in the wrong place at the wrong time, he is forced to leave his warning with the first person he meets.
The unintended recipient of the future warning (a simple corn farmer in 1899) now possesses knowledge of the future, including the assassination of President Kennedy. Will the farmer be able to prevent any of the coming atrocities of the 20th Century or, in spite of man’s ability to travel through time, would God’s sovereignty demand that the horrible events of history’s past can never be changed?
The Visitor, by J.L. Pattison, is a short story best described as part science fiction, part history, part time travel, and part mystery. With a tablespoon of politics, a pinch of dystopia, and a dash of conspiracy, this tale will take you on an entertaining ride that climaxes against the backdrop of the Kennedy assassination.
See why The Visitor has received rave reviews and why it’s being compared to The Twilight Zone.

Buy it on Amazon.

My Ratings:

My Review: 

Thanks to the author for sending me this book in exchange for an honest review.

What if we knew everything or anything about our future? We would certainly try to alter and reconstruct it the way we want.

This short story has been compared to Twilight Zone a lot but I have never watched it or didn’t even know it existed. I’m a lover of sci-fi books and I haven’t read many of the books about time-travel but I have always been fascinated by the idea so when the author approached me to read his story, I couldn’t refuse.

The story starts when Leroy Jenkins meets a man in his field who has appeared out of nowhere. According to him, he’s a time traveler and is accidently transported to a wrong place at a wrong time. He knows everything that’s going to happen in the future and he hands over the task of preventing all those events – including World Wars, the assassination of President Kennedy – from happening to Leroy.

This story has a lot of American History. Half of which I was already familiar with but I didn’t know the exact history – I’m not an American. Anyway, it doesn’t really matter if you’re an American or not because you’ll understand everything easily.

This story consists of 31 pages and it took me less than half an hour to finish it. I love how the author has captured everything so perfectly in only 30 pages. I was really surprised the way the author has penned the whole story in only 30 pages. The pace was moderate and the writing praise-worthy. I’m glad that I got the chance to read this book because I enjoyed immensely and I recommend it to everyone especially the fans of sci-fi and time travel books.

About the Author: 

J.L. Pattison is the indie author of fast-paced, plot-driven speculative fiction for contemplative misanthropes.
He identifies the two greatest influences on his writing by his two stages of life: From his formative years as a child watching reruns of The Twilight Zone, and from his adult years reading George Orwell classics.
J.L. Pattison spins intriguing tales, many of which have endings you simply do not expect (in true Twilight Zone fashion, of course).
Although J.L. Pattison tackles tough adult themes in his stories (e.g. war, aging, death), his stories remain suitable even for younger audiences because he crafts gripping tales without the profanity and vulgarity commonly found in so much of today’s literature.
J.L. Pattison lives in the Western United States with his wife and children where he drinks copious amounts of sweet tea (an addiction he acquired while growing up in the South and isn’t willing to surrender), and roots for his lowly San Francisco 49ers.

Buy it on Amazon.


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

14 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Visitor by J.L. Pattison

      1. You aren’t :3. But when it comes to this one: because you probably never played world of warcraft xD. Which is good! Only interferes with reading and studying *nods* but I guess the author here did play it xD.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Greetings, Zainab. I wanted to let you (and your readers) know that my latest release, ALIBI INTERRUPTED, is now available: https://www.amazon.com/Alibi-Interrupted-Travel-Always-Consequences-ebook/dp/B01JDJVFTS/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8#navbar

    And best of all, it’s free for today (August 1st).

    Also, the naming of my character in THE VISITOR had nothing to do with the video game (and I’ve never played the game). It was purely coincidental. But because I’ve heard so much talk about the name being associated with a video game character, I’ve changed Leroy’s name to Elroy.

    Also, on future projects I now do an Internet search on a character’s name to see what’s associated with it. I learned a valuable lesson with Leroy Jenkins. 🙂

    Sincerely,
    – J. L. Pattison

    Like

Leave a Reply

