Review: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

Title: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publication Date: August 2, 2012

Format: Paperback

Genres & Themes: Young-adult, Fantasy, Romance, Magic.

Blurb:

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her, her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Ratings:

4.5 Stars

My Review: 

I was in a reading slump when I picked this book and couldn’t get through it.

It was really slow and dull at first and was really difficult for me to read it. So I abandoned it temporarily.

I picked it up again and started reading from where I left off. I won’t deny the fact that it was still really slow. But after a few chapters, I was hooked.

I loved Celaena’s character. She is such a kickass heroine and a reader as well! What can be more incredible? She is also really sarcastic and sassy. All the qualities I admire. 😀

Dorian – the crowned Prince – is a snobby and sarcastic guy who reads! Then we have Chaol – the Captain of Guard – is the kinda guy who has a really hard exterior but is really nice and kind once you get to know him. And that’s why I love him. So much. If you ask me, I prefer Chaol over Dorian. 😀

The writing is commendable! Sarah J. Maas is a brilliant writer. Although the book was slow at first, it picked up the pace after a few chapters. I was so absorbed in the world that the author has created that I didn’t want the book to end. The book grew on me and I got so attached to this book! I don’t know why I waited so long to read this book.

I’m probably going to read the second book next month.

Confession Time:

I always thought that I wouldn’t like this book or the main protagonist. Because

  • According to my sister, the book was really slow. It was slow at first but then it was good. Excellent, really!
  • The series is really hyped. And sometimes, I end up “not liking” the hyped book. For example, Red Queen. I love this one, though!

Fun Fact:

Did you know that Throne of Glass is a retelling of Cinderella?

So this was my review of Throne of Glass. I hope you liked it. 🙂

Buy it on Amazon!


Have you read this book?

Share your views with me!


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


About The Author:

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).
Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

40 thoughts on “Review: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas

    1. Yes, there is. But it doesn’t annoy me a lot even though I’m a hater of love triangles.
      Oh God there is a moderate amount of blood and murder considering it’s a book about assassin. But it’s good! It has got different elements including magic and marks etc

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great review! I’m so glad you enjoyed this book! It’s one of my FAVOURITE series because it gets REALLY awesome! Personally for me, the series starts to get PERFECTLY AMAZING from Heir of Fire 🙂 Book 3 and 4 are SO great and I can’t wait for Empire of Storms! I hope you enjoy the rest of it! Are you planning on reading the Assassin’s Blade?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope it becomes my favourite too. ❤
      I have yet to read Crown of Midnight and I think I'll read it next month. I'm so excited to read the next book!!
      I guess I am going to read. It's on sale on a website so I think I'm going to order it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t know if I will. That site where the book is on sale is way too complicated. Btw, I’m reading Crown of Midnight and I’m LOVING it. Can I come to you to Fangirl after i finish it?? xD

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aha, I get it! If you do get to reading it though, prepare the feels. OH YES! You are reading CROWN OF MIDNIGHT?! WHOOO! I’m telling you, it gets better from there! OF COURSE YOU CAN! You don’t even need to ask. I WILL BE HERE WITH ALL THE FEELS AND EMOTIONS, A BOX OF TISSUES AND CHOCOLATE ICE-CREAM, just say the word 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. WELL I JUST FINISHED IT AND OHMYGOD GIVE ME YOUR GOODREADS LINK AND PREPARE YOURSELF FOR MY SCREAMS AND SQUEALS BECAUSE I HONESTLY DIDN’T SEE THAT COMING. I’M SORRY FOR SCREAMING BUT I CAN’T HELP!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesum! I asked my secret Santa for this book last year but got stood up and now I still don’t own a copy, but really want to! Just like you, I’m always wondering whether I’m going to end up not liking a hyped book. Glad you ended up enjoying it so much! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yess!! I always wondered if I will like this book or not and I ended up loving it!! I think it’s much better than The Mortal Instruments. The world building is great and Sarah J. Maas is a fabulous writer!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

