Review: Everything,Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything

Title: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicole Yoon

Publication Date: September 3rd, 2015

Format: Paperback

Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction.

Blurb: 

Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. So allergic, in fact, that she has never left the house in all of her seventeen years. But when Olly moves in next door, and wants to talk to Maddie, tiny holes start to appear in the protective bubble her mother has built around her. Olly writes his IM address on a piece of paper, shows it at her window, and suddenly, a door opens. But does Maddie dare to step outside her comfort zone?

Everything, Everything is about the thrill and heartbreak that happens when we break out of our shell to do crazy, sometimes death-defying things for love.

Ratings: 

*Five Stars*

My Review:

I was in a reading slump when I picked up this book.

After two months of reading no book, I was desperate to read anything at all. I tried three different books but none of them interested me so, at last, I picked this one.

And Holy Moly it took me only one sentence to get hooked on this book.

It took me four days to finish this book and it wasn’t because the book was slow or uninteresting but because I didn’t want to finish it. Well, also because I had practicals in between.

Let’s talk about writing first.

The writing is marvellous. I have too many favourite quotes and excerpts to share and I wish I could share each one of the quotes with you all. But I won’t because I want you to read the book xD

One of my most favourite is:

“Sometimes I reread my favorite books from back to front. I start with the last chapter and read backward until I get to the beginning. When you read this way, characters go from hope to despair, from self-knowledge to doubt. In love stories, couples start out as lovers and end as strangers. Coming-of-age books become stories of losing your way. Your favorite characters come back to life.”

This book is near to perfect book for me. I admired every single detail. The characters, the plots, the story and the cute illustrations made the story unique.

The connection and love between Olly and Maddy is not cheesy at all like many other YA novels. I love it when the characters connect with each other and not just talk about the other person’s looks.

One of the things that I couldn’t stop thinking about while reading this book was my existence or our existence, in general. I mean, Maddie has a disease that means she can’t get out of the house ever! Anything can trigger the infection and the infection can even cause her death. I felt so grateful that I don’t have any kind of disease that requires me stay in my house 24/7 and not even get out once. I have read many books related to different diseases and have watched different movies about it but reading this book was like being in a body of a Maddie and I felt really connected to her and understood her. And I’m really thankful that I’m healthy and alive and I’m living my life the way I want.

I really enjoyed reading this book and I would totally recommend you to read it! 🙂

About the Author: 

Nicola Yoon grew up in Jamaica (the island) and Brooklyn (part of Long Island). She currently resides in Los Angeles, CA with her husband and daughter, both of whom she loves beyond all reason. Everything, Everything is her first novel.

35 thoughts on “Review: Everything,Everything by Nicola Yoon

      1. Pics or it didn’t happen! xD I’m actually thinking about printing out covers now as well. I spent most of my bookish time browsing for covers anyways without reading any of it ^_^. And there are so many gorgeous ones out there! And then some printed quotes in between. OMG, this is going to be legendary!!! XD

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I KNOW!! I have a folder in my laptop where all kinds of pictures that I want t print out are saved. I’m so lazy to actually print them out but i will do it soon xD Book Covers is a great idea! and they also look really beautiful on the wall. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      1. My list of allergies is huge. Most recently we’ve discovered, that I’m allergic to cleaning. Seriously. I’m allergic to pretty much all cleaning products and soaps, and now I’m starting to take allergic reactions to rubber gloves too. So I can’t even wear those to keep the cleaning products off my skin.
        Allergies are just the worst 😦

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

