The Liebster Award #2

Hey, everyone! I have been nominated for the Liebster Award by the lovely Emma @ emdoesbookreviews and Fatima @ notablepad. Check out their blog if you haven’t yet.  As you can tell, this is the second time I have been nominated to do this award and I’m honoured. 🙂

The Rules

  • Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you 
  • Answer the 11 questions the blogger gives you
  • Nominate 11 bloggers that you think are deserving of the award
  • Let the bloggers know you nominated them
  • Give them 11 questions of your own

1. You have to burn one book from your shelf. Which book do you choose?

That’s not really hard. There’s this one book on my shelf and it actually belongs to my sister who isn’t really a reader. The book is

Princess (The Princess Trilogy #1)
by Jean Sasson

Princess

My sister didn’t allow me to read it when I was young and now it’s condition is so bad and the pages are torn and frayed and the cover is worn and I also don’t have any interest in this book right now.

2. Which non-canon ship do you ship the most?

I really want to see Luna and Neville together. Both of them are my favourite characters from HP and I just ship them so much it physically hurts. I know, these two ended up with two different persons but in my head, these two ended up together and that’s what really matters to me. 😀

3. Name an author whose book(s) you have been planning to read for a long time and just haven’t gotten around to yet.

Sarah J. Maas. I have ALL of her books on my shelf and I haven’t even read one of them. However, I have started Throne of Glass last night and I’m really excited because so many people have been recommending me her books.

4. Who is your least favourite author and why?

Because it is “least favourite” I would like to mention Stephanie Perkins. I’m not in love with Anna and the French Kiss or Isla and the Happily Ever After. Her only book that I love is Lola and the Boy Next Door and that is my favourite. ❤

5. When asked if you have read a particular book, do you ever pretend you have when you have not? (Be honest!)

Nope, I never pretended something like that. I haven’t read many of the series and everyone knows that 😀

6. Has there been an instance where you prefer the movie/TV adaptation to the book? What was it?

Yup. I prefer A Walk To Remember movie to the book. I watched the movie first and enjoyed it a lot but then I read the novel. I hoped to like the book better but I didn’t. The book was good but I loved the changes they made in the movie including the bucket wish-list thing was really a good addition  and I also prefer The Duff movie although I haven’t even watched it yet. xD

7. Which book have you owned for the longest and not read yet?

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and Windmills of Gods by Sidney Sheldon. I bought both of these books at a book fair 3 or 4 years ago and I tried reading Pride and Prejudice a lot of times but I couldn’t get through it. I’ll read Pride and Prejudice soon because it’s my friend’s favourite. ❤

 Windmills of the Gods

8. How often do you cry when reading? Which book has made you cry the most?

I don’t cry that often. To be honest, I rarely cry while reading a book. Although I did shed some tears while reading an Urdu book Lahasil and also when I was reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix because well, you know *coughs* how it ended.

9. Name a popular character you just cannot bring yourself to like. Why do you dislike them?

I have already mentioned Tris and Jace before. So, this time, I’d like to mention Clary. I liked her in the first book but couldn’t in the second and third book.

I don’t like Clary because of Jace and because of how annoying she gets sometimes. I have also mentioned her name before but never really wrote the reason why I don’t like her at all. So, Jace makes fun of everyone including Simon and even Clary which I hate because Clary puts up with him and never tells him to shut his mouth. I also hate that she never really defended Simon who is her best friend. Honestly, if anyone talked to my best friend the way Jace talks to Simon, I would throw them off the cliff (figuratively) but no, I would never tolerate someone making fun of my bestfriend.

10. If you could live in any fantasy world, just for one day, where would you want to live?

Hogwarts. Because Hogwarts is my home. ❤

11. What is the one bookish trope you are most fed up of reading about?

Do I have to mention only one? because I have a lot! I’m really tired of some bookish trope that are repeated again and again and if I could, I would ban all of them.Now, these tropes are: Love triangles (my most hated trope), bad boys getting the girl (why are there even good guys in the world? at the end of the day, heroine will go with the bad guy), corrupt leaders or government (literally tired of this one because every book has this trope now :/)

My Nominations

Hiraetheforthepages

curlyhairbibliophile

locoforbooks

Books and a Cup of Coffee

rasheedsyeda

professionalfangrl

Since I’m really busy to make or find some questions, I’ll skip this step and you have to answer the question by  Emma and I don’t think that you’ll find any problem with that because her questions are really cool and I enjoyed answering them!

Her questions are:

  1. You have to burn one book from your shelf. Which book do you choose?
  2. Which non-canon ship do you ship the most?
  3. Name an author whose book(s) you have been planning to read for a long time and just haven’t gotten around to yet.
  4. Who is your least favourite author and why?
  5. When asked if you have read a particular book, do you ever pretend you have when you have not? (Be honest!)
  6. Has there been an instance where you prefer the movie/TV adaptation to the book? What was it?
  7. Which book have you owned for the longest and not read yet?
  8. How often do you cry when reading? Which book has made you cry the most?
  9. Name a popular character you just cannot bring yourself to like. Why do you dislike them?
  10. If you could live in any fantasy world, just for one day, where would you want to live?
  11. What is the one bookish trope you are most fed up of reading about?

 

Thanks again Emma for the reward and I really enjoyed answering all your questions! 🙂

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

25 thoughts on “The Liebster Award #2

  1. Great answers 🙂 I hope you manage to get through Pride and Prejudice some day. Or maybe you can watch the movie? I prefer A Walk to Remember book (but because I haven’t watched the movie) haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m hoping to read the book in a few months but nope I will never watch the movie before reading the novel. xD
      A Walk To Remember was a great book but I loved the additions in the movie. Let me know what you think about it if ever you watch the movie. ^-^

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh man, I’m right there with you about Clary and Jace. They’re both jerks, and I couldn’t read past the first book because of it. (And other reasons, but mostly because they’re jerks.)

    Pride & Prejudice is amazing, but the writing style is definitely much different from what we’re used to today! Austen doesn’t really tell us what the character’s facial expressions and voices sound like, so it can be really hard to figure out what emotion the characters are feeling–which can make it REALLY hard to get attached to the characters and sucked into the story.

    I know you already told Fatima that you won’t watch a movie before reading the book, but if you continue to struggle with Pride & Prejudice, I’d highly, highly recommend watching the 1995 BBC mini-series, with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle. It’ll show you what the character’s personalities and emotions are like, so if/when you do finally read the book, it’s easier to relate to them.

    (I wouldn’t recommend that you watch any of the movie versions, personally; because the movies are shorter, they cut a LOT out of the plot and character development, so they kind of ruin the story, in my opinion. The BBC mini-series is about five hours long, and is very nearly a perfect reproduction of the book.)

    Loved reading your answers! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right? I like characters with a good sarcasm but not the arrogant ones. Jace was so arrogant. I wanted to punch him in the face most of the time and that’s why I hated Clary so much! She never took her bestfriend’s side or even stood up for herself.
      I started reading Pride and Prejudice when I was new to reading. You see, english is not my first language so it was really hard for me to get through the book and I agree with you on expressions. I didn’t know their expressions most of the time and that made it a lot harder. But, I think I’ll try reading the book soon and I’ll take your advice if in case, I won’t be able to get through it again. 🙂
      Thank you so much! Why don’t you accept this award? I mean, I’d love to read all your answers so I nominate you as well if you don’t mind. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, exactly! Ugh, just thinking about them is pissing me off again. >_<

        I would never have guessed English wasn't your first language. Wish I was as fluent in a second language as you are. 🙂

        Hopefully you enjoy P&P, but I'll be looking forward to hearing what you think of it either way!

        And thank you for the nomination! It'll take me a while to get around to it; I'm painfully behind on my tags. *Dies slowly.* It'll be fun, though! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well it isn’t. It’s Urdu. I’m not really fluent. I still make some grammar mistakes but I thought english was your first language? I mean, you’re really fluent. What is your first language then?
        Yes and I’m really excited to read it. 🙂
        Tell me about it! I have written all the tags that I have to do and there are 10 at the moment. *dies with you* And it’s so hard to decide which one to do first you know!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Making some grammar mistakes certainly doesn’t mean you’re not fluent; even native speakers make tons of mistakes! You might just make slightly different ones than native speakers do. 🙂

        Yep, English is my first, and French is my (almost-forgotten) second. I was never as fluent in French as you clearly are in English! 🙂

        The struggle is real! I’ll be looking forward to reading all your tag-posts, though.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank god your sister didn’t allow you read Princess, it the kind of book that scars you forever.
    I shipped Neville and Luna so hard too! I actually saw the movies first, so I thought they will end up together because it was hinted in the last movie!
    I’ve been planning on reading Throne of Glass for so long! Looking forward to hearing what you think of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was really young when my sister read it. I mean, it was six or seven years ago so she thought it wasn’t appropriate from me to read then.
      I was so shocked, you know!! I shipped them so much before I even knew about that little hint in the movie and I hate that they aren’t together. People say that they wouldn’t make a match but I think they would! They’re both kind and have been through bullying etc.
      I finished it just now! And I’m writing the review at the moment. I will prolly post it in a few days. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

