Review: Maybe Someday (Maybe, #1) by Colleen Hoover

Maybe Someday (Maybe, #1)

Title: Maybe Someday (Maybe, #1)

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publication Date:  March 18th, 2014

Format: Ebook

Genres & Themes: NA, romance, contemporary, music

Blurb:

At twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her—and she’s forced to decide what her next move should be.

Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. They soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one.

Ratings:

3 out of 5 stars

Read on 18 February 2016

Review: 

I had a very bad headache after finishing this book.

No, no, no! Not because the book was terrible (It wasn’t!) but because I stayed up the whole night to finish it.

This book is about Sydney who is heartbroken because her boyfriend cheated on her and now she has moved out of her best friend’s house. She starts to live in an apartment which she shares with 3 people including a very handsome lad who is a very cute guitarist. She starts falling for him and he feels the same about her. BUT! they can’t be together.

It wasn’t really a good summary I wrote there but you probably got the point.

I didn’t like Sydney. I just couldn’t connect with her and I know she broke up with her boyfriend because he cheated on her, but I didn’t like her crying all the time. She was so dramatic at times and that made her really annoying.

Ridge was a really talented and unique. I never read a character like him before. But he infuriated me sometimes. He was a really loyal friend – a quality I admire alot. I liked Warren and Bridget although she was very mean and bitchy. I will be reading Maybe Not which centers around these two because I’m curious to read about their relationship.

On to the writing, Colleen Hoover possesses a very distinctive and unique writing style. Her writing is so addictive that you fly through the whole book without realizing that you’re on the last page. But, honestly, that’s the only thing I admire about her. I think that she tries really hard to write an over-emotional story and she succeeds in it. But, I don’t feel connected to her stories that’s why I don’t like these stories of her. And before you say anything, I have read many books with emotional past that ripped my heart out and shattered it into pieces. But this one didn’t.

Spoilers (Skip this part if you haven’t read the book yet):

Ridge was playing with two hearts. He had a girlfriend and he was kinda flirting with other girl and that’s what infuriated me. I don’t care how much he tried to stop himself later but he didn’t stop himself when it started. Sydney annoyed me because she was also a part of it and after all what she went through, she should never have done anything like that to Maggie. I really loved Maggie and no matter what explanation or thing she said about Ridge keeping a hold on her, she never deserved it!

About the Author: 

Colleen Hoover is the author of ten New York Times bestselling novels. She self-published her first novel, SLAMMED, in 2012. Five months later it debuted on The New York Times. Colleen has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster. Her next novel, November 9, is scheduled to release in November 2015.Ugly Love, a novel she released in August 2014, is currently in pre-production with Hackybox Pictures and is slated to release in 2016.

You can follow Colleen on Instagram and Twitter @colleenhoover. You can also find her on her blog at http://www.colleenhoover.com or on her very active Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/authorcolleenhoover

Add on Goodreads

So, this was my review of this book.

If you have read it then what do you think about it and

if you haven’t read it then will you read it?

My Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/abibliophilesobsession/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/zainab_sheikh

Twitter: https://twitter.com/zynb_shykh

8 thoughts on “Review: Maybe Someday (Maybe, #1) by Colleen Hoover

  1. Great and honest review Zaynab! I hear a lot of people fangirling over Colleen Hoover, but haven’t read any of her books yet myself. Based on your review, I probably shouldn’t because overly emotional writing just tends to annoy the living bleep out of me :).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw Thank you! I’m also not a fan of overly emotional writing unless it’s REALLY good! I have read only two of her books but both of them have a character with a broken past and it’s really annoying when the books are not different from each other.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly! You see that a lot, that writers use the same formula every time because it’s something they’re good at. Which can also be a good thing! Unless it’s something you weren’t too smitten with in the first place :).

        Liked by 1 person

  2. From what I was able to read (missed the spoilers section!), great review! I hate it when a book seems to be so good but then the characters come around and piss me off 😦 I WILL be reading a Colleen Houck book (I know I’m late to the party 😛 ) but I’m not sure whether to read this one or not. Do you have any recommendations?

    Again fantastic review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with you but what I don’t like is that Colleen writes only about emotional pasts and that’s what annoys me because I like variations.
      You’re not that late. :p You can read this one. Maybe you’ll love it because most of the people love her books. Her writing style is really good and I have admitted that!
      And thank you so much! ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

