Review: Dying To Forget (The Station #1) by Trish Marie Dawson

Dying To Forget (The Station #1)

Title:  Dying To Forget ( The Station #1)

Author: Trish Marie Dawson

Publication Date: May 25th, 2013

Format: Ebook

Genres & Themes: Young-adult, fantasy, suicide, afterlife, death.

Blurb: 

Piper Willow dies the summer after her high school graduation but she doesn’t make it to Heaven or Hell…instead she finds herself in a spiritual terminal called the Station. She’s given only two choices: Return to Earth as the subconscious for a person in need of some outside assistance, or move on and spend an eternity lost in her own sorrow and pain.
Does Piper have what it takes to save a life – to be the nagging voice inside someone else’s head – or will she fail and end up lost and tormented in limbo…forever?

My Rating: 

4.5/ 5 stars

Read on February 11, 2016

My Review:

Thanks to the author who was kind enough to send me this book. 

I can’t really explain how much I love this book! I wasn’t planning to read it until I’m done with my exams but I couldn’t stop myself from reading it. And guess what? I finished it in less than a day!

This book is about afterlife and it deals with sensitive matters like suicide, depression, and sexual assault and the author discussed all these matters really nicely!

So, Piper Willow – the protagonist –  dies the summer after her high school graduation but she doesn’t make it to Heaven or Hell…instead she finds herself in a spiritual terminal called the Station. She’s given only two choices: Return to Earth as the subconscious for a person in need of some outside assistance, or move on and spend an eternity lost in her own sorrow and pain. Does Piper have what it takes to save a life – to be the nagging voice inside someone else’s head – or will she fail and end up lost and tormented in limbo…forever?

I was a little confused at first but got clear after some time. So, Piper Willow is a depressed girl and she has suffered alot. More than a normal teenager. She commits suicide and finds herself in this place called The Station.

What I love about Piper is that although she has been through so much, she is a strong-minded and energetic person. She wants to save other people from what she went through. She wants to put hope, confidence, faith, and happiness in their heart, I love Piper because she’s truly amazing.

“Sometimes things go wrong. You need to accept that. You need to know that you will be okay. You’re amazing. You can have an amazing life if you choose to live it.”

The writing is so good that book had me hooked from the very first page. I enjoyed every moment and page of the book. I was so caught up in the book that I didn’t even realizes that I was at the last chapter. And can I just say that the ending was totally unpredictable? I’m really curious to read the second book! I don’t want to say more because I don’t want to spoil anything for you.

It is a relatively short read but a marvelous one. It is heart-wrenching, moving yet heart warming book. It’s also really humorous at times which I love!

I highly recommend this book to everyone because this book is brilliant. Get yourself a copy and read it!

About the Author: 

Trish was born and mostly raised in San Diego, California, where she lives now with her family and pets. She began writing short stories and poetry in high school after an obsession with Stephen King’s ‘The Stand’. After over fifteen years of crazy dreams and an overactive imagination, she began her first book, ‘I Hope You Find Me’, in December of 2011. It was then that her first Fantasy series was born.

When she is not writing, researching or editing and formatting, she’s homeschooling her children, reading during her free time, and enjoying the Southern California sun. She’s an animal lover, and regularly saves mice, lizards, and birds from her three rescue dogs, Zoey, Bear, and Kaylee. They all share the house with River, the rescue cat, who is a part dog and part old man. You can find out more about Trish and TMDBooks by checking out her website today (www.writertrishmariedawson.com).

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Nobles

Leave a Reply

