Review: The Duff by Kody Keplinger

6931356

Ratings:

1/5 stars

Read on June 12, 2015

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Review:

I’ll be honest with you about it.

I didn’t like this novel at all.

Many people I know love it. Maybe you love this book but I don’t.

So, Bianca is a high school girl who has two really pretty but loyal friends. Then at some point, a womanizer, Wesley Rush, calls her the Duff (Designated Ugly Fat Friend) and she throw her drink on him. But she can’t get his words out of her mind nor the problems that she’s facing at her home so she makes a decision and she goes with it.

Now, let’s get to the reason what I liked about it.

  • The concept of DUFF. The whole designated-ugly-fat-friend was a good concept but the story well..

giphy

  • The relationship between Bianca and her dad. I mentioned in my earlier reviews that I love it when the authors describe the character’s good  relationship with their parents because I’m tired of teenagers being a rebel and disrespectful towards their parents.

 

Now, let’s get to the part where I tell you what I don’t like about this story. So, brace yourself.

  • Bianca was so, so annoying. Honestly, I didn’t like her from the beginning. She acted like she was the girl being crushed by the world, but she was really rude to every single person. Even her friends sometimes. She was really childish and obnoxious. She didn’t care about others feelings and hurt them with her words.
  • I hated Wesley. He was just a womanizer. He was a playboy. The kinda boy who thinks he can get every girl and Bianca just proved him right.
  • The story. Okay, I said that I liked the concept but the story literally ruined everything for me. I started to read this novel because of so many good things I heard about it but I feel that the author could choose or write a good story with the whole concept but the story was just unhealthy. The Duff thing was not even discussed in the novel.
  • They were mistaking lust for “love”. This is the part where I’m going to say that this book was very inappropriate. I read words like “fun” and “entertaining” but it was nothing like it.
  • Now, I’m sorry, but I have read many reviews that say if there is any insecure girl out there who thinks she isn’t beautiful and no boy would love her, should read it. It’s really annoying to be honest. I don’t think that you need a “boy” to tell you that you’re beautiful and you should be loved. You are beautiful and you don’t need anyone to tell you that. Not a boy atleast. There is your family and then your friends who love you. You just need to realize that. 
  • The book was way too predictable. So, yeah, nothing surprised me.

eminem

So, people, these were the reasons why I didn’t like this novel at all.

I still haven’t watched the movie because I was hurt by the book, but I’ll watch it soon. It’s still on my list of movies to watch.

So what do you think about this book? and my review?

9 thoughts on “Review: The Duff by Kody Keplinger

Leave a Reply

