Review: Broken Dolls (Broken Dolls #1) by Tyrolin Puxty

25772321

Ratings:

4.5/5 stars

Read from January 22 to 23, 2016

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Review:

I received this book via NetGalley in exchange of an honest review.

This book is one of the unique books I’ve ever read. I have never really read a book like this one and I’m grateful that I read it because it was some kind of a new reading experience for me.

tumblr_m8brl3r3dm1rt8781o1_500

So, this book is about Ella who is a doll and she lives in the professor’s attic. She remembers nothing about her past or when she used to be a human. She spends her time dancing, watching TV or imagining things. Professor creates another doll – Lisa – a goth. Lisa becomes violent and starts chasing Ella. She wants to return to her human form and will take any measures to accomplish it. Now, Ella is also determined to remember her past and find out everything that Professor kept from her.
Ella also meets Professor’s granddaughter, Gabby and befriends her.

This book was a quick short read as it was only 150 pages long but packed with all the stuff that we readers admire. This book is not like every YA book and it combines thriller and mystery with horror and is slightly creepy. The plot twist was totally unpredictable and, therefore, I won’t talk about it because I don’t want to accidently spoil anything for the readers.
The plot and the concept of the book were outstanding. It was captivating and got me hooked most of the time. It kept me questioning everything and every character in the book. I was really curious to know the ending and talking about the ending, it was really heartbreaking for me to read. I was a bit angry (can’t tell you why) but also satisfied.
As the mystery started to unfurl, the book became more and more interesting and anticipating.

The characters were very well-developed. The writing was remarkable. The author didn’t confuse us by overwriting everything about the science and this little different world mentioned in the book.
So, I highly recommend this book to everyone. If you love creepy combined with mystery and science then you’d love this book!
I’m really thrilled to read the sequel of this epic novel.

Add It On Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review: Broken Dolls (Broken Dolls #1) by Tyrolin Puxty

Leave a Reply

