Review: The Prophecy of Shadows (Elementals #1) by Michelle Madow

27779802

Blurb:

When Nicole Cassidy moves from sunny Georgia to gloomy New England, the last thing she expects is to learn that her homeroom is a cover for a secret coven of witches. Even more surprisingly … she’s apparently a witch herself. Despite doubts about her newfound abilities, Nicole is welcomed into this ancient circle of witches and is bedazzled by their powers—and, to her dismay, by Blake—the school’s notorious bad-boy.

Girls who get close to Blake wind up hurt. His girlfriend Danielle will do anything to keep them away, even if she must resort to using dark magic. But the chemistry between Blake and Nicole is undeniable, and despite wanting to protect Nicole from Danielle’s wrath, he finds it impossible to keep his distance.

When the Olympian Comet shoots through the sky for the first time in three thousand years, Nicole, Blake, Danielle, and two others in their homeroom are gifted with mysterious powers. But the comet has another effect—it opens the portal to the prison world that has contained the Titans for centuries. After an ancient monster escapes and attacks Nicole and Blake, it’s up to them and the others to follow the clues from a cryptic prophecy so that they can save their town … and possibly the world.

Rating: 

3.5/5 stars

Read from 24, December, 2015 to 28, December, 2015

Review:

I received a digital copy of the book via the author and negalley in exchange for an honest review.

This book is a blend of Greek Mythology and witches and reading it gave me Harry Potter and Percy Jackson vibes which I thought was super cool.

The story was good and written well. The creatures were cool and perfectly described. It was adventurous and fun to read. I liked some characters especially Chris, Kate, and even Danielle. Honestly, I thought Danielle was really fun and cool. Yeah, she was bad but I couldn’t hate or dislike her.

Kate was really shy and sweet, smart and nerdy, and Chris was all fun and laugh. I liked him because he was really nice. 

And I also ship Kate and Chris because these two would look super cute together.

The one thing that I absolutely didn’t like about this novel was the romance or attraction between Nicole and Blake. It was so dull and boring. Seriously. Honestly, I’m sick of reading the-new-girl-falls-for-the-popular-boy-who-already-has-a-popular-and-mean-girlfriend.  Anyway, I don’t like the romance between these two and that’s why I don’t like Blake at all. It’s seriously like every other novel where the popular guy falls for the new girl and etc. And I guess, that was why I couldn’t even connect with Nicole’s character. I even didn’t like her much.

I hope all of these things get better in the second novel.

All in all, this book was really fun to read and I really enjoyed reading it. I can’t say that I loved it because I didn’t, but I liked it alot. So, if you’re a fan of Greek mythology or Percy Jackson, you should totally give it a try.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Prophecy of Shadows (Elementals #1) by Michelle Madow

    1. Thank you! 🙂
      I read the first book on my tablet but I want the physical copy of all the 5 books so I’ll be ordering them and then reading the whole series in printed form.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

