My Heart & The Other Black Holes vs Thirteen Reasons Why

FotorCreated.jpg

Hi, readers!

I hope you all are perfectly fine and devouring a lovely book.

Today, we’re gonna compare two books and decide which one is the best.

The two books I’m comparing today are:

My Heart and the other Black Holes vs Thirteen Reasons why

These two books are about suicide. In Thirteen Reasons Why, the girl – Hannah Baker – has already committed suicide and we get to know the reasons why she has done it while in My Heart and The Other Black Holes, a girl – Aysel-  wants to commit suicide and is looking for a suicide partner.

So, I’ll start with a blurb via Goodreads

4594146

My Heart and The Other Black Holes:

Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution: a teen boy with the username FrozenRobot (aka Roman) who’s haunted by a family tragedy is looking for a partner.
Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together. Except that Roman may not be so easy to convince.

You can read my review here!

6517293-397x600

Thirteen Reasons Why:

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

You can read the review here.


Personally, I like My Heart and The Other Black Holes. If you don’t already know then I’m must tell you how much I love this book. I can’t actually tell you the reasons why it’s my favourite because that would require me spoiling the whole book for you which I’d hate to do. Anyway, I’d recommend everyone to read it because it’s my favourite! ❤

I’m not a fan of Thirteen Reasons why and I’ve actually got more than thirteen reasons for it. One of the reasons is that I’m against suicide because I believe that there are so many people who are dying because of cancer or some other deadly disease and they are desperate to live even a single day but they can’t. Also, I believe that how you live your life depends upon you. If you want to be happy then nothing is stopping you. You just have to let go of all the bad people, bad memories and bad past. I know it’s not as easy as it sounds like but you’ll have to work for it, work through it. I hope you get what I really mean.

I know, most of the people love this book and would hate me for saying that I don’t like this at all but I tried. I honestly tried liking it but I couldn’t. I did like different things about the novel, for example, the message it conveys us but apart from that, nothing.

Anyway, my vote is for My Heart and The Other Black Holes.

What about you guys?

Have you people read both the novels? If yes, then which one is your favourite?

 

 

Leave a Reply

