6482837My Ratings : 4 out of 5 stars

My Review :

“I guess that’s what saying good-bye is always like–like jumping off an edge. The worst part is making the choice to do it. Once you’re in the air, there’s nothing you can do but let go.”

I’m not a fan of Lauren Oliver’s Delirium but this book has got me.

Samantha is a mean girl and has everything ; she has a dreamy boyfriend, three best friends and, well, popularity. But she dies on Cupid Day – her favorite day of the year. However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined and can change the fate of many people.

It took me awhile to get into the story but I ended up loving it! This story is  romantic, honest, sad and yet, wonderful. Sam is a selfish, self-centered, spoiled and mean teenager. I hated her at first but I think we can relate to her at times. I wasn’t as bad as her but I also lied, broke someone’s trust. She’s not flawless like many of the heroines. She gets six days to make amends and correct her mistakes. It’s hard but possible. This book is relatable and can transport you to your High School time. The book is unpredictable. It is slow but realistic. I mean, you can’t realize in a day how worst you’ve been all this time? And that’s the best part ; she takes time to realize and it all happens gradually.

Oliver has done it. The writing is excellent; the characters are realistic and powerful and the story is amazing! She wrote about a single day over and over again with more imaginations, events, and chances for Sam. She didn’t let the readers get bored with reading it. She made the novel more interesting. She managed to make the readers like a girl they hate the most in this world and I’m grateful her for that because she made us realize that even a spoiled and self-centered girl, who ruins everyone’s life, can be deep.

I love this novel!

“A good friend keeps your secrets for you. A best friend helps you keep your own secrets.”   

Leave a Reply

